Winners for Guild of Food writers awards

kinloch lodge

The Guild of Food Writers announces 2023 Winners

The Guild of Food Writers has announced the winners for its annual awards in food writing and broadcasting.

The winners in each category are:

First Book

A Dark History of Sugar by Neil Buttery

Food Book

English Food: A People’s History by Diane Purkiss

Food Podcast or Broadcast

The Full English by Lewis Bassett/Forest DLG

Food Magazine or Section

Pit Magazine: Editor, Helen Graves

Food Writing

Bee Wilson for work published in The Guardian & The London Review of Books

General Cookbook

Cooking: Simply and Well, for One or Many by Jeremy Lee

International or Regional Cookbook

The Nutmeg Trail by Eleanor Ford

Investigative Food Work

The Great Plant-Based Con by Jayne Buxton

Online Food Writer

Bald Flavours by Sam Wilson

Recipe Writing

Mark Hix for work published in the Telegraph Magazine

mark hix

Restaurant Writing

Jimi Famurewa

Specialist or Single Subject Cookbook

Tomato by Clare Thomson

Drinks Writing

Mark Dredge for articles published on and in Ferment Magazine

Drinks Book

Cider Planet by Claude Jolicoeur

kinloch lodge

Self Publishing

Fifty Years – Kinloch Lodge by Alisha Fernandez Miranda, Jordan Webb and Claire Macdonald


Claire Ruston





I am Emma and with my husband Mark write Foodie Explorers, which is a food and travel website.

I am a member of the Guild of Food Writers and British Guild of Travel Writers.

We have a wide range of judging experience covering products, hotels and have judged, for example, for Great Taste Awards and Scottish Baker of the Year.

Along the way Mark gained WSET Level 2 in Wine and I have WSET Level 2 in Spirits as well as picking up an award with The Scotsman Food and Drink Awards.    

Usually I can be found sleeping beside a cat.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.