Home » News: CIS Awards 2019 results

News: CIS Awards 2019 results

Cis Awards

Full list of CIS Award winners

The first award for hospitality excellence created in honour of legendary Scottish chef Andrew Fairlie has been won by Dumfries House, the 18th-Century Ayrshire country mansion and estate rescued and redeveloped by Prince Charles.

Andrew Fairlie cis Awards

Fairlie, who died in January after a long battle with a brain tumour, was Scotland’s only double Michelin Star holder for his restaurant at the five-star Gleneagles Hotel in Perthshire.

It was presented by Andrew Fairlie’s widow Kate at a dinner attended by some 500 guests in Glasgow last night (Thursday).

Chair of the Advisory Board, Andrea Nicholas, said: “Andrew was unequivocal about using the word ‘excellence’ in the CIS Awards’ name and only accepting and judging entries which lived up to the term. Dumfries House encapsulates all that. It has become a symbol of excellence in hospitality, hosting hundreds of events, as well as in education, training and restoration, and inspiring a new generation to enjoy hospitality and the outdoors.”

Fairlie, the inaugural winner of the Roux Scholarship in 1983 and described by this year’s judges as a visionary genius, was himself presented with the CIS Awards’ Lifetime Excellence Award in 2017. This year, the same award was made to Albert Roux senior OBE, KFO.

Cis Awards The Chef of the Year Award went to Fred Berkmiller , Chef-Proprietor of the L’Escargot Bleu and L’Escargot Blanc restaurants in Edinburgh. It was a case of third time lucky as he was a finalist in the category in 2016 and 2018. Judges described him as “driven by excellence and tradition, and passionate about the provenance and sourcing of local and sustainable ingredients.”

Cis Awards Restaurant of the Year was Stefano Pieraccini’s Seafood Ristorante overlooking St. Andrews Bay. The judges praised the “quality and delivery of a superbly cooked local menu” and said Head Chef Davey Aspin’s team “worked as one cohesive unit to deliver a true fine dining experience.”

Glenapp Castle at Ballantrae in South Ayrshire was named best Independent Hotel. Transformed from a Victorian ruin by the Stranraer-based McMillan family, the 17-bedroom Glenapp is now owned by London financier Paul Szkiler and is about to launch a safari boat service to take guests to the Hebridean islands. Group Hotel of the Year was won by the Glasgow Hilton.


Full results:-

Employee of the Year Award sponsored by Fresh Food Company

Stephen King, Uisge Bar and Restaurant, Murthly, Perthshire


Rory MacAleece, Ibis Styles Glasgow and Glasgow West (Maven Capital Partners)

Terry McBeth, Doubletree by Hilton, Glasgow

The Sustainable Business Award sponsored by Green Tourism and Keenan Recycling

BaxterStorey in partnership with City of Glasgow College

Fairmont St Andrews


BaxterStorey Scotland in conjunction with Royal Bank of Scotland

The Healthier Scotland Award sponsored by the healthylivingaward in association with NHS Health Scotland

The Usual Place, Dumfries


Aramark – Scotland Team

BaxterStorey at City of Glasgow College

The Training and Employee Retention Award sponsored by caterer.com

City of Glasgow College and Caledonian MacBrayne


Fazenda Rodizio Bar and Grill, Edinburgh

Sonas Hospitality, Isle of Skye

The Pub Excellence Award sponsored by KraftHeinz Foodservice

Lord of the Isles, Craobh Haven, Argyll


The Crinan Hotel by Lochgilphead

The Crown and Kitchen, East Linton, East Lothian

The Horseshoe Inn, Eddleston

The Banqueting and Events Chef Award sponsored by ASA Recruitment and Tilda

Alan Boslem, Big Bite Catering, Airdrie


Scott Brodowski, Hickory, Edinburgh

James Burton, Ginger Snap & Food Design, Edinburgh

The Restaurant Newcomer Award sponsored by Kafoodle and Sodexo

Edinbane Lodge, Isle of Skye


The Little Chartroom, Edinburgh

The Lookout by Gardener’s Cottage, Edinburgh

North Harbour Bistro, Isle of Harris

The Food Tourism Award sponsored by Seafood Scotland

Cannonball Restaurant and Bar, Edinburgh


Aberdeen International Airport

Rufflets Hotel, St Andrews

The Hospitality Educator of the Year Award sponsored by Inspire Catering

Steph Tanner, Edinburgh College and Allison Kennedy, City of Glasgow College


Ian Pirrie, Edinburgh School of Food and Wine

The Independent Hotel of the Year Award sponsored by Tetley Foodservice

Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae


The Allanton Inn, Duns

Cavens Country House Hotel, Kirkbean, Dumfries

The Dunstane Houses, Edinburgh

The Patisserie Chef of the Year Award sponsored by Callebaut

Shona Sutherland, Taystful, Blairgowrie


Ian Baillie, Tantrum Doughnuts, Glasgow

Gerard Chouet, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, Gleneagles Hotel

The Group Hotel of the Year Award sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Brokers and Instock

The Hilton, Glasgow


Sandman Signature Aberdeen Hotel

Waldorf Astoria, Edinburgh

The Young Chef of the Year Award sponsored by Brakes Scotland

Jordan Clark, Pennygate Lodge, Mull


Jamie Deans, Deans Restaurant, Perth

Ewan Jones, Cafe St Honore, Edinburgh

Ross McLaren, CH&Co at Baillie Gifford, Edinburgh

The Restaurant of the Year Award sponsored by Pelican Procurement

The Seafood Ristorante, St Andrews


Barley Bree Restaurant with Rooms, Muthill, Crieff

Le Roi Fou, Edinburgh

The Chef of the Year Award sponsored by BaxterStorey Scotland

Fred Berkmiller, L’Escargot Restaurants, Edinburgh


Jerome Henry, Le Roi Fou, Edinburgh

Praveen Kumar, Tabla Indian Restaurant, Perth

Paul Wedgwood, Wedgwood the Restaurant, Edinburgh

The Lifetime Achievement Award co-sponsored by Braehead Foods and City of Glasgow College

Albert H Roux, OBE, KFO

The Andrew Fairlie Excellence Award

Dumfries House, Cumnock, Ayrshire

Follow us on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter ❤️

Join our Facebook Group Glasgow Foodies and share your reviews, tips of where to eat and drink, new places and old places you 💕

[email-subscribers-form id=”{form-id}”]
Glasgow Foodie
Glasgow Foodie

Mrs Foodie aka Emma loves to snuggle with Cleo, sleep and read.

Can be found with gin or a pint in hand.

Find me on: Web | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook