After decades of disuse Görlitz Synagogue shines

Built in Art Nouveau style in 1911, the Görlitz Synagogue survived Kristallnacht (orchestrated attacks carried out by the Nazis against Jews across Germany) and arson but not the depletion of the Jewish population. In 1991, a restoration project began which was completed in December 2020 with the official opening of the building 12th July 2021, after being interrupted by Covid.

Architects William Lossow and Max Hans Kühne designed the new synagogue in Görlitz with the building in use until September 1940, when the last religious service took place. After German reunufication, funds were raised and the building was saved. A restoration project took place from 1991 and 2020, costing 10 million Euros.

The synagogue is actually two synagogues. These are the Kuppelsaal, which was originally built for 550 worshippers,and the Wochentags-Synagogue, with room originally for approximately 50 worshippers. The Wochentags-Synagogue are has been retained for Jewish worship with the Kuppesaal used for tours and events. The first jewish worship in over 80 years was held in the synagogue on 20th August 2021.

A look inside the Görlitz Synagogue

The decoration inside the synagogue is stunning, rich and luxurious colours. On the east wall is an alcove where the Torah Ark used to be located. This is where the Torah scroll would be stored and an eternal light shone above it. As the larger hall has been desecretated, the Torah Ark now stands empty and there is no light burning. Above the alcove is an inscription , which means: “I am ever mindful of the Lord’s presence.”

Where is Görlitz Synagogue

3 Otto-Müller-Straße, Görlitz

Opening Times

Monday: 10 am – 6 pm

Tuesday: 10 am – 6 pm

Wednesday: closed

Thursday: 11 am – 7 pm

Friday: 11 am – 7 pm

Saturday: 10 am – 6 pm

Sunday and public holidays: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m

Please check the official website for any events that may change these opening times.

Admission Fee

Admission is €5 and includes an audio guide available in German, English, Polish and Czech.